General Training - Task 2 - Type: Agree or Disagree - Subject: ban smoke, public areas, countries

more strict rules for smokers?

Aimed score 7 or above

In many countries, it is now illegal to smoke in public places. It is only fair that people who wish to smoke should have to leave the building.

Do you agree or disagree?

Smoking in public locals has been banned in many nations and people have to go to designated areas to smoke. In my opinion, this is a good practice because not only will it save non-smokers from the evils of passive smoking, but it will also prevent young people from getting into the habit of smoking.

To begin with, smoking can be a choice for many people but the others who are around them also have to face hazardous health consequences when they inhale the cigarettes' smoke unknowingly. For instance, a study has shown that 60% of the passive smokers, who stay around active smokers, suffer from severe diseases such as lung cancer and respiratory issues. Therefore, by restricting people from smoking in public areas, non-smokers will get benefited.

It must be also pointed out that young people generally start smoking because they are influenced by older smokers. For example, teenagers who are close to people who smoke can get into the habit of smoking because adults are showing them that this is normal behaviour. Although they may be aware of the consequences of smoking, youngsters might be inspired by people who exert influence on them. For that reason, restricting the liberty of smoking anywhere can prevent juveniles from becoming addicted to tobacco and having to face the nicotine evils in their organisms.

In conclusion, smokers are aware of the serious consequences of smoking and in spite of this, they smoke. Hence, the government has banned smoking in public places. From my point of view, this is an appropriate approach that will prevent passive smokers from developing health issues as well as young people from becoming a smoker.