General Training, Task 2 - Type: Cause and Effect - Subject: Children's obesity in wealthy countries

More children in developed countries are becoming overweight. This is a serious problem for wealthy countries.

Discuss some causes and effects of this problem. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

The number of children falling prey to obesity is rising every day in affluent nations. Unhealthy diet and sedentary lifestyle are some of the reasons for this urgent issue. This essay will discuss the causes and effect of this epidemic.

To begin with, it is fair to state that unhealthy food habits increase the risk of obesity among children. The excessive consumption of calories, sugars and carbohydrates have led youngsters to get weight. For example, if in my childhood we used to eat homemade food such as salad, rice, and beans, new children's generation has eaten junk food more than ever. Recent researches showed that school children in developing nations accounted for a whopping more than half of the customer share of McDonald's. As a consequence, youth in these countries are precociously suffering from diseases such as high pressure, cholesterol, and diabetes.

It must be also pointed out that a decline in the culture of outdoor sports has contributed to this epidemic problem. Youngers are choosing to stay home rather than to indulge in any physical activity. This has largely contributed to obesity amongst them, mainly in wealthy countries in which access to state-of-art entertainment such as video games and smartphones is facilitated. For instance, in a survey conducted by an American university, it was demonstrated that vast majority of children prefer playing virtual games to any outdoor activity, and this alarming statistic might considerably increase in the next years motivated by the rapid technological development. This has resulted in the rise of a generation that is not only lazy and obese but also lethargic and unhealthy, suffering from several health problems.

In conclusion, it is a fact that rich countries provide children with a wide variety of fast food restaurants and technological leisure options, which has influenced youngsters on keeping an unhealthy food habit as well as a sedentary lifestyle. The lack of a balanced diet and physical activities has made children overweight, being affected by serious diseases.