Whether we need the translators in the future?

the importance of interpreters in the next years

These days, the drastic development of technology has provided people with a myriad of options for translating activities. While many people stated that AI and other intelligent technology tools would replace the position of translators in the future, I still strongly believe that the importance of interpreters will still be maintained in the near future.

First and foremost, translation machines still make mistakes in the translating process, and could not ensure to maintain their accuracy. Specifically, AI software is prone to malfunctions, and the solutions available for people now are not foolproof. Furthermore, complex vocabulary and industry-specific terms can also be problematic to machine translation software. As a consequence, we could come to a statement that there is no evidence for a robotic translation machine being able to perform better than a well-educated interpreter. For instance, hosts of netizens today are familiar with using online translating software, named Google translate due to their free access, amazing speed and a wide selection of languages that are available for the users. However, as this website is free of charge, its translating products are only acceptable for looking up some words or translating some basic sentences. In terms of interpreting a contract, academic paper or a conversation with native speakers, people had better resort to the assistance of a translator as it seems that humans are able to catch up with and tackle the situation more flexibly than programmed machines of applications.

Secondly, although translating and artificial intelligence software can be recalibrated or programmed to translate words, phrases, and language patterns, they could not fully comprehend humor, sacastims, human emotions, and other extra linguistic nuances. Thus, these platforms also fail to deliver original ideas of the author to the general public which might bring about a drastic change in the meaning of the text or speech. An apparent example for this incident is Automatic speech recognition (ASR), which is utilized to help with live speeches but its translations are unable to offer high-quality products for people. In fact, ASR programme has such a hard time to cope with spontaneous, continuous and context-dependent speech compared to the productivity of a cabin translator.

In brief, there are some people who hold a view that the future of translation looks rather gloomy because of the continual introduction of translation tools, however, it is still not enough for us to predict the scenario of the disappearance of translators. This is due to the fact that translating programs are still confronted with insufficient precision accompanied by their failure when conveying the meaning of the speech or text through the employment of the author's attitude and other artistic methods.