Essay about Travel to foreign countries when you are young or when you are older

Original TOEFL Essay Question:

Which do you prefer? Travel to foreign countries when you are young or when you are older. Give specific reasons or examples to support your decision.

best age for traveling abroad

With the improvement of living standards, traveling abroad as a way of leisure and entertainment prevails among people. However, an interesting discussion has arisen concerning the time of foreign travel: is it more preferable to travel to foreign countries when you are young than when you are older? In my opinion, traveling abroad at a young age is preferable for me. My viewpoint can be well illustrated by the following reasons and examples.

As for twentysomethings, young people crave more insight than the older people. Traveling abroad is a precious passage to get familiar with the the development of economy and technology in other country, which is a good opportunity to broaden the mind. Especially, it is the young in their 20s that are in desperate need of new perspectives. For instance, my sister, a very excellent woman, had once worked for investment bank with a decent salary. But a trip to United States served as a turning point in her life. After meeting a whole variety of different people during trip, she started to reexamine her life and the career she really want to devote to for the rest of her life. Finally, she made a brave decision when she came back. She hopped from the previous job to a philanthropic foundation where she was very happy to throw herself into the deeds of charity. Afterwards, she often told that if it weren't for the chance to open my eyes at a young age, I would have been doing the job that others yearn for while I don't enjoy. Therefore, I strongly believe that young people shall break out of your shell and talking to various great minds as a result of obtaining more insights.

For another thing, a super-healthy body can ensure that you enjoy the traveling time to the fullest.Interesting as it is, traveling abroad will consume much physical strength and energy. Provided with enough strength, young people could have a great time while it is not convenient for the older people to travel abroad. Like last year, my sister took my grandma to Switzerland for colorful sports activities. While my sister was skiing or bungee jumping, my grandma could only go sightseeing and take photos. Tired as she felt, she had to take a rest at hotel. This is possibly why I prefer to travel abroad when I'm young. When getting older, the health condition may not allow to participate in such strenuous activities. Thus, in order to fully enjoy those extreme sports, it is recommended that young people to travel abroad at a young age.

There is a prevailing belief that it is better to travel abroad as people become older because they have a plenty of leisure time. Meanwhile, young people shall take more time to study and fight for their career rather than to travel abroad. Nevertheless, as long as the balance between trip and work could be achieved, traveling abroad will help enlarge our scope, relax ourselves and work more efficiently. So traveling abroad at a young age is my preference.

In a nutshell, I advocate traveling abroad when we are young. It is not only because we can open our mind by communicating with people from all walks of life but also because we can make good use of those traveling facilities when under a strong physical condition. So let's hurry to travel to the foreign countries when we are young!