IELTS Task 2: travelling to a foreign country or watching documentaries?

Some people say that you can learn more about another country by watching television programmes and films about it than by actually visiting it.

How true is this statement? Is there anything you can learn about another country by visiting it that you cannot learn by watching programmes and films about it?

A great deal of individuals assume that bylooking at television programmes or movies, tourists can acquire more information regarding foreign country. Although this is true to some extent since people can explore every spots in short time and with low cost, I utterly believe that learning from the locals is more better than just watching what the producers prepare for the audiences.

Supporters of this notion argue that international tourist can save time from long journey because there are many channels which provide knowledge about another country. For example, lots of TV's show offer traveling story of someone in different countries. Furthermore, it is believed by some that by staying at living room, they can get more knowledge without using any expense to reach the destination.

However, I believe there are number of reasons why this is not the right decision of action. Firstly, people do not get their own experiences just by watching the journey of the presenters. The audiences cannot feel the real environment and atmosphere by watching the films, this is due to the fact that the whole adventure is showed in one package of travelling. In addition, by coming to the place directly, visitors can get clear information about the area. Travelers also gain more facts about local culture and their social live.

The aforementioned evidence reveals that although watching the broadcast and cinema can minimize the time and the budget that people needs to discover about the destination country, I consider that local residents are a better source of information than the others. The best solution would be the government and producer of programs and films cooperate to promote their country so that it will attract the foreign tourist.