It is true that in the modern world, many couples decide to defer procreation

having children late in life

It is true that in the modern world, many couples decide to defer procreation. This is largely down to young couples' ambition in their careers and their desire for financial stability, which negatively impacts society and family life.

There are two reasons why a growing number of young people decide to delay their parenthood. Firstly, young people tend to put their career above family. Those who are ambitious devote their time and effort to work and make voluntary contributions to their companies. Meanwhile, childrearing that ties them down and restricts their freedom prevents them from pursuing their careers, so they delay giving birth. Secondly, newly-married couples want to have a stable income before giving birth. The cost of raising a child, such as healthcare services or food, is exorbitant, which transcends their meager income. Therefore, many couples are not ready to produce children when they are young and do not have enough savings to afford a better upbringing environment for their children.

Nothing good will result from late pregnancy. From the perspective of the family, deferring childbirth widens the generation gap. The generation gap prevents meaningful communication between members of the family. An aged father could find it difficult to talk with his teenage daughter, or older mothers are likely to be overly strict with their sons. Another justification is that age would make giving birth harder for women. It is harder for an aged mother to recuperate from the labor, or even worse, they might encounter greater risks of miscarriage. Children also might be prone to the Down syndrome, which retards their growth.

In conclusion, young couples delay pregnancy because of pursuing their careers and becoming financially stable. This trend causes severe consequences for both society and family life.