Is it true, that in order to understand the culture of a country, we must speak the local language?

Some people think that a person can never understand the culture of a country unless they speak the language

Do you agree with this opinion?

the importance of speaking a local language

Recently, some people argue that in order to understand the culture of a country, we must speak the language. But, I strongly believe that way is not suitable for every people.

On the other hand, there are several reasons why we do not have to speak the language in order to learn the culture of a country. The first reason is the literature give us much information than verbal knowledge. For instance, nowadays the college students learn a lot of cultural information about a country in literature sources such as books, journal, and encyclopaedia. Learn their language also give a lot of information for academic purposes but language skill much useful in order to communicate with a foreigner. Another reason, most of the people now learn the culture of a country which informed in another language. Finally, the manifestation of culture can be found in many ways such as cultural dance, festival, food, statue and more.

However, I have a reason why an ability to speak the language also gives advantages in order to understand the culture of a country. In specific isolated tribes which are no information about their culture an ability to speak their language is the most important ability. For example, in recent centuries, European explorers travel around the world and visited several unknown countries. In order to learn their culture, European explorers have learned their language in order to learn about their culture because at this time there is no information about that country.

In conclusion, I believe that an ability to speak the language is not an essential part in order to learn the culture of a country. Nowadays there are several literature sources such as books and journal and available in several languages. However, in the past, an ability to speak is very important to understand the culture of a country. For recommendation, it would be better if every people learn the culture and also learn their language.