In twenty years there will be fewer cars in use than there are today.

Questions:

Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Nowadays, cars act as an important role in our life; actually, people have embraced cars as a part of themselves for doing even minor works. In such matters, people who do not have car were encouraged to buy one. It leads to increasing cars on the streets and causes air pollution, heavy traffic, and even global warming. Scientists and specialists try to inform people that not only does car have benefits, but it also brings inevitable issues especially for big cities. As far as I know, governments in some developed countries have taken firm steps to decrease the number of cars in big cities. They have tried to achieve the goal by getting higher taxes and lay constraint rules down. I suppose that streets would have fewer cars in the near future compared to today. There are some convincing reasons, which would persuade people not to use cars anymore.

Firstly, as we all know, cars have made human life easier and have brought us many advantages like faster traveling. They even have become a part of our life; in some societies, apart from that whether it is fair or not, luxurious cars have become a symbol of prestige and proud. These factors have led to the fact that any family is convinced to have at least one. Since increasing cars on the streets has made several problems such as heavy traffic, accidents, air pollution and even global warming for residents and ecosystems, governments try to relieve this modern phenomenon. For example, in some developed countries such as the United States, Japan, China, and Russia, public transportation services have been improved to make decrease using personal cars.

The second point I would like to mention is that fuels such as coal, gas and oil are going to the end. Some vital parts of a country like factories, power stations, and military units need fuel to be survived. Cars deplete fuel for unworthy purposes. Governments know that future would be energy war; therefore, they attempt to encourage their people to leave personal cars off. As far as I know, governments in many countries try to force their people use cars less by getting higher taxes and raising rates of fuels.

Most importantly, by using internet, we can do any transaction from our home. Nowadays, if we want to pay money or order any kind of good, we can simply do it through internet. By going out, we would only waste our time and would breathe polluted air; as a result, many people prefer to stay at home and order what they want. I believe, over time, people would come to the conclusion that having car would not be necessary and useful in life.

Broadly speaking, I believe that in twenty years there will be fewer cars on the streets. There are convincing reasons, by which people prefer to stay at home instead of going out for minor works. First of all, since cars are the main reason of many issues like air pollution and heavy traffic in big cities, governments try to employ innovative and feasible plans, one of which is public transportation. Actually, by improving public transportation services, people would be encouraged to leave their own cars off. Second, fuels and energy on the earth go to the end; as a result, governments prefer to use them for vital parts of their countries. Last but not least, since almost any work can be done fast, easily and inexpensively via internet, cars would become the unnecessary part of any life in the near future.