IELTS Writing Task 2: Two Opinions of the Internet

It is generally believed that the internet is an excellent means of communication but some people suggest that it may not be the best place to find information.

Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

the global network as the main source of information

While some people believe that interconnected network is an outstanding communication platform, others argue that finding information through that is not a good idea. Both perspectives are elaborated in this essay.

Proponents state that the internet is a great communication media due to its availability at any point of the globe. By utilizing this platform, people can socialize with their families, relatives, acquaintances, and even strangers without time and space restrictions. For example, scientists from several different countries can collaborate to conduct a research easily by corresponding through email. Besides, old friends separated by continents can still maintain their relationship by using several kinds of social media, such as Facebook, line, and so forth. These virtues ease people to socialize each other.

On the other hand, the internet is not the best tool to find references as the validity and authorization of information in it cannot be guaranteed. This is because everyone can compose and publish everything they want regardless they master it or not. For instance, people without health educational background can suggest a medicine for addressing a disease just based on their experience without a further proofread by an expert. Eventually, such ineligible post is feasible to mislead readers. In addition, there is not a special authority checking the plagiarism of information stored. To illustrate, an irresponsible blogger can duplicate shared knowledge and reposts it directly ignoring to courtesy of an actual source. This action is obviously a violation of copyright.

To sum up, although internet eases people to communicate, its truth and authority cannot be directly accepted. Accordingly, it is imperative to the government to build an institution which focuses on filtering knowledge and its authenticating.