Unethical and immoral advertising in our daily lives

Some of the methods used in advertising are unethical and unacceptable in today's society. To what extend you agree or disagree.

plethora of advertisement nowadays

It is often said that plethora of advertisement nowadays make use of inappropriate and improper contents. Although commercials play an important role on product marketing, I completely agree with this argument and I believe that such immoral and unethical propagation approaches shall be regulated by laws.

To begin with, it is undeniable that random calls and junk mails are disturbing to our daily lives. People receive cold calls from many companies, especially cosmetics and insurance industries. Overwhelming advertisements are about irrelevant products' promotions. Such widespread phenomenon is extremely annoying and adversely influencing people's livelihoods. For example, Hong Kong citizens receive more than 10 random calls about promoting goods every day, while corresponding regulation has been imposed to govern the abuse of cold calls.

Equally importantly, false contents are usually displayed to exaggerate the product's effectiveness. Cosmetic companies, for instance, often overemphasize the product's effects on beauties. As a result, customers would be misled to purchase such items without desired changes.

Last but not least, numerous companies deliver the deceptive images of their products. Cigarette is a case in point. The tobacco companies usually invite some famous movie stars to smoke in front of the camera. As a result, teenagers would imitate, and be addicted to smoking consequently.

In conclusion, there are considerable numbers of advertisements adopting immoral and unethical approaches to attract people's eye. Random calls create unnecessary nuisance to the public, while the images and effectiveness of tobacco and cosmetic goods are reshaped in order to enhance their popularity. Thus, stringent legislation shall be imposed to govern the practices of advertisement.