Unethical methods in advertising today

Some of the methods used in advertising are unethical and unacceptable in today's society.

To what extent do you agree with this view?

In the modern era, companies tend to use any methods so they can outperform the market. Advertising is one of the essential tools that companies use to promote their products; however, some advertisements use unethical content which is against the social norms. This essay will discuss the reasons why some companies create negative advertisements and why they are considered to be unacceptable.

Firstly, many companies especially the new ones aim to position their brands in the customers' minds in any possible way whether it is acceptable or not. Some may attack certain religions so they can push people to talk about them. To illustrate, a company in Israel attacked Muslim women in their advertisements. although many people were angry at the company, it became popular not only in Israel but also all around the world. hence, in this pragmatic world, many businesses care about profits only and give no attention to important values such as respect and diversity.

Secondly, some products offer solutions to specific problems. So marketers tend to exaggerate these problems making people feel bad about themselves and try their product. For example, a gym might promote its services by making fun of obese people in their advertisements. Moreover, sometimes such advertisements target kids which results in serious self-esteem problems for both adults and kids. These advertisements might achieve their goals but they would cause serious problems in societies.

To conclude, advertisements must never hurt people's feelings or ignore social principles. Governments should monitor all advertisements before they are launched and define strict rules to keep advertising entertaining. As the public should not be annoyed by companies' competitions.