It is unfair for local people to pay the same amount of money on tourist attraction with foreigners.

Hello!

I will take IELTS test next thursday and last time I failed to pass writing exam

Please help me ! Thank you :D

Q: Foreign visitors should pay more than local visitors for cultural and historical attractions.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

A: People's opinions regarding attraction fee differ from person to person. Personally, I agree with that foreign tourists should pay more entrance fee compared to local visitors.

To begin with, it is unfair for local people to pay the same amount of money on tourist attraction with foreigners. Entrance fee is necessary to maintain and repair cultural or historical attractions. However, local people already pay taxes and it is spent on local infrastructure including tourist attractions. So, if local people pay the same fee with foreigners, it means that they pay double. For example, Korean government spends 5% of the tax on local attractions each year, so local people do not need to pay the same entrance fee with foreign visitors.

Another reason is that it is helpful to the local economy. More local tourists would visit domestic attractions when they pay less money than foreign visitors. If local people pay the same fee with foreign people, they would travel abroad rather than stay at local area because they would think there is no merit to visit local landmarks. For instance, the Namsan tower, which is a well-known tourist attraction increased the entrance fee of foreigners and then more local people have started to visit there. These people had a positive influence on local accommodation and food industry, so the overall local economy became better.

In conclusion, I agree with the opinion that foreign visitors should pay more because it is fair for local people and encourages local economy.