Unfinished Argumentative essay. Students work while study. revising/thoughts

ARGUMENTATIVE ESSAY on Students should or should not work while in high school.

During the past few decades, increasing numbers of school-aged youth have joined the formal labor force of the United States (Greenberger & Steinberg, 1986). A high school education plays a significant role in many students future. The four years students invest in high school are required because it prepares students for college and real life situations. During the four years, students narrow their decision for college majors, but are not introduced to the financial aspect. Expenses for college are costly, along with everyday living. As result, a popular trend among high school students is partaking in a part-time job. In 2009, the U.S. Bureau of Labor reports that 78% of students are employed while attending high school. Even though many argue that part-time jobs increase the workload on students, part-time jobs offer students many benefits. For instance, a job added to an individual busy schedule could help aid them to become more productive. Although, some people believe that the primary job of a student is studying, I disagree. Even though, many believe that students who are employed throughout high school is a horrible idea, it could better prepare students for the real world.

"A large body of findings shows that learning proceeds primarily from prior knowledge, and only secondarily from the presented materials. Having prior experience can be at odds with the presented material, and consequently, learners will distort present materials" (Greenberger & Steinberg, 1986). Experience from a job is a vital aspect employed students attain. Students who can uphold a part-time job gain excellent experience that others cannot learn in a classroom. Experienced students who are applying for a job have a better chance of being hired compared to one with zero experience. In result, student with prior experience listed on their resume show that they have prior knowledge of the job and have a sense of what needs to be completed. Due to the current economic statues, employers do not have the extra money or time to invest in newbies. Alleyne suggests, "Students need to spend more time developing and improving their professional profile. The additional experience one has obtained in a certain field the more he has to offer." For instance, a student who applies for a cooking position at a Mexican restaurant with prior cooking knowledge has a greater chance of being hired compared to one who has no knowledge of cooking at all.