Unhealthy activities in modern society

Science tell us some activities are good for our health and there are some unhealthy activities. But millions of people still do those unhealthy activities. Why? what can we do to change this situation?

fighting bad habits

My answer:

Today, the science development helps us know what action is good and what is bad for our health, but there are many people keep doing unhealthy activities. There are a number of reasons behind these activities and several solutions should be done to change this reality.

There are two primary reasons why people still do bad things even have been warned that it is harmful for their health. Firstly, activities such as smoking, drinking, drug,... are hobby of many people. Ordinarily, if someone is addicted with cigarette, he could not give up it easily. In addition, many youngsters follow trends such as using Shisha, playing dangerous sports as Parkour, eating poor diets,...because they want to express themselves to others or keep pace with hot trends. Secondly, in many countries still exist outmoded traditions from a long time ago such as cure diseased by drinking ashes water or beating patient with a whip to drive ghost away. In many cases, people even believe in shamans rather than doctors.

There are two solutions to solve these problems. On the one hand, parents need pay more attention to their children and advise them to stay away from their negative health habits. Meanwhile, government should promotes and raises public awareness of the damage of the harmful activities to health by some measures such as limit drug's advertising, fine people who smoke or play dangerous sports at public places,..... On the other hand, the state and health organizations need carry out campaigns to change the old view of healthy in some underdeveloped areas by support free medical services.

In conclusion, there are several reasons behind that many people still do unhealthy activities, and this problem should be solved by both family and society.