Universities should focus on specialist subject - this is a much better choice. IELTS Writing task 2

learning various range of subjects is not effective

University students always focus on one specialist subject, but some people think universities should encourage their students to study a range of subjects in addition to their own subject. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is argued that students should not only focus on a major subject but also study a number of others. In my opinion, specializing in one subject is a much better choice.

There are several reasons why I would argue against learning various subjects at universities. Firstly, it leads to undergraduates' poor motivation because most of them are interested in only one or a few subjects, not all of compulsory ones. Secondly, students are affected by other subjects so that it is impossible for them to put all of their efforts into the main one. Finally, acquiring knowledge of subjects which they do not use regularly, especially in their careers, wastes a lot of time and energy. For example, my mother is a lawyer, and she admits that the understanding of algebra and trigonometry she gained is useless for her job now.

I believe that focusing on one specialist subject makes undergraduates highly experienced in it. When students do not have to learn subjects, they can spend time reading books, searching information on the Internet and conducting experiments on that subject only. If they choose to continue working in that field, these valuable lessons and experience will greatly improve school leavers' career prospects. Nowadays, employers tend to find the best worker for each position, not students acquiring a decent understanding of every area. For instance, Gennady Korotkevich is the highest-rated competitive programmer because he learnt only algorithms at his university.

In conclusion, my view is that university students should major in one subject rather than do courses in different ones.