Universities function is providing the knowledge and skills required in a workplace / employer

IELTS Writing Task 2 on universities

Some people think that universities should provide graduates with the knowledge and skills needed in the workplace. Others think that the true function of a university should be to give access to knowledge for its own sake, regardless of whether the course is useful to an employer.

What, in your opinion, should be the main function of a university?

Nowadays, the unemployment ratio is sharply high on around the world because of lacking of the knowledge and soft-skills in the workplace. Universities should apply office awareness and needed skills courses.

Students couldn't get a good career if they lack of workplace studying after graduation. Firstly, studying at school and working as an employee are not the same. Students at university always try to pass the exams to graduate and responsible for only themselves. By contrast, if you work in the office, you have to responsible for the company's productivity which relates to all staffs and customers. Secondly, interviewers currently consider interviewees's capacity and adaptation more than the scores in degree or diploma. They want to know if you could handle employee's duty well.

Moreover, lacking of knowledge and skills needed in the workplace prevents student 's development. Nobody could break the limit in the unrealistic educational system. Especially in Vietnam, almost graduated students have to be training everything about their works again, wasting a lot of money and time of companies. More importantly, outdated courses affect badly to flexibility and acumen, emerging unemployed generations.

In conclusion, it can be said that providing the knowledge and skills which the workplace needs is every universities basic function.