Should universities pay more to professors in order to improve the education quality, or not?

To improve the quality of education, universities should spend more money paying salaries to professors.

There is a debate about whether universities should pay more to increase professors' salaries in order to improve the education quality. Some believe that the increase in salaries can stimulate professors to focus more on their teaching. However, as far as I am concerned, it is not necessarily the case.

There is no denying that salary increase can promote professors' motivation for teaching better, at least in a short term. It is almost human nature that one will become more enthusiasm in work when receiving more money for reward. Then the passion will turn into action, improving the education performance. However, the passion, gained from the material stimulation, would pass sooner or later. In other words, the motivation will vanish/disappear before long. Furthermore, as it is impossible for universities to keep on spending money raising salaries, the quality of education would not keep improving.

In fact, there are other approaches for universities to make education quality better besides the method mentioned above. One way among them is upgrading campus facilities. As we all know, it is critical for a university to equip with many kinds of facilities, such as those in laboratory, library and gym. The college with excellent experimental equipment, say, a Quantum Computer, is more likely to receive precise results in computer science field than those without one. It is access to these high-tech facilities that enables college students to have more opportunities to learn and do research, leading to their success in the future. As the advanced apparatus require a large amount of money to achieve, it is indispensable for colleges to allocate their funds to that aspect.

Another way for colleges to enhance the quality of education is to provide financial aid for professors to learn more and improve their teaching methods. Rather than giving money to them directly, universities can use that money to train teachers. For example, schools can invite famous experts, such as Nobel Prize winners, to host a academic seminar and ask professors to attend. Also, to acquire outstanding abilities in educating, teachers with great potentials should be sponsored by the college to exchange to other universities or even study aboard. In these ways, their knowledge and teaching skills will undoubtedly be developed, and along with the process is the improvement of the teaching quality. Without such training, the professors would miss an ideal chance to grow.

In a nutshell, increasing professors' salaries is not the best solution for education to improve. Such other ways as upgrading facilities or training professors are also effective and essential, requiring universities to spend more funds.