Universities should provide graduates with the knowledge or with work experience?

Topic: Cambridge 7, Test 4, Task 2

Some people think that universities should provide graduates with the knowledge and skills needed in the workplace. Others think that the true function of a university should be to give access to knowledge for its own sake, regardless of whether the course is useful to an employer.

What, in your opinion, should be the main function of a university?

______________________________________________________________________ ______________________________________________________________________ ____

What is the main mission of universities? Some people argue that university is just an academic place which is completely unrelated to industry. On the other hand, others claim that universities and industries should complete each other. They say businesses in conjunction with universities should prepare useful knowledge and skills for students who are going to start their career.

Some people think that universities should keep their academic atmosphere and concentrate on pure scientific issues. Whether these subjects are practical or not, it is obvious that plenty of university's curriculum, which are very important and fundamental, are not applicable in business and industries. For example, mathematics in engineering majors is a basic course for next important courses like Machine Design. These are such influential courses that cannot be ignored simply.

In contrast, others claim that teaching theoretical topics in universities is just wasting time. Universities must provide graduates with practical skills like team working problem solving, negotiation techniques and so on, as much as possible. Recent researches in some businesses prove that just 10 percent of universities courses are applicative in business climate.

To my mind, both opinions which are mentioned above are true but with a little bit consideration. Theoretical courses are definitely essential as a cornerstone. In addition, practical units must be included in course of study.

All in all, universities, scientific and research institutions and businesses must have a strong relationship with each other. Universities can provide apprenticeship specially in summer for their students to ensure they get the practical expertise they need in their future workplace.