TOEFL essay: should universities provide their students with a wide range of courses?

It is widely believed that university acts as a means driving individuals toward comprehensive growth, a strong foundation for individuals prosperity and social mobility. However, it is controversial whether universities should only provide students with essential knowledge and skills in their workplace or make a wide rang of knowledge accessible to students, regardless of future use. Personally,i am in favor of the former idea.

On one hand, judging by the present situation, youth unemployment seems to increase at a rapid pace. The main culprit of such phenomenon is believed to be the unpractical and unrealistic curricula provided by universities. As a matter of fact, currently, many universities are forcing their students to take every course they provide, which places a huge psychological burden on students and greatly hamper their educational progress without being useful for their occupational prospective. Therefore, universities should change their management system and focus on providing students with needed skills in the workplace instead. For example, for students who aim to be self-employed in the future, skills related to entrepreneurship should be their main focus. On the contrary, for those who wish to work for a big corporation with international repute, such skills as team-work, critical thinking or problem solving are of great demand and must be enhanced.

On the other hand, this does not necessarily mean that we should overlook other academic subjects because there is rarely any subjects deemed useless in academic environment. In effect, all subjects are interrelated, having understanding of a certain field may construct a strong foundation for the majoring one. For instance, for those who major in literature, history can provide them with useful material for their writings. Therefore, universities should spend a fair amount of resource on those subjects, especially in an era where multi-ability is becoming increasingly important.

In the nutshell, schools should focus on teaching essential skills for future employment without overlooking and forgetting about other subjects.