(IELTS) The purpose of university education

Some people think the purpose of university education is to prepare students for employment while others think it has other functions. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Every year, a great number of high school students compete against each other for entering university as they tend to believe that a decent job will wait for them after graduation in college.

Indeed, university education fosters students with basic knowledge. Being equipped with particular skill, there is no doubt to find a well-paid job in the future. Take the medical students for example, what they learn in university mainly focus on how to be a doctor or nurse. Thus, it is easy to find out that most of their courses are related to disease and medicine.

A large majority people, however, misunderstand the function of university. To gain a promising job is a reward for an excellent student, but not the ultimate goal for university education. Specifically, university offers students a wider platform to present themselves in front of others, helping students become more confident. After four year university's training, students have adequate ability to shoulder the stress from the complex society. In contract, the basic knowledge that high school student acquired mainly restricted in books-theoretical knowledge. Fewer of them attempt to enter society, which renders them hardly adapt themselves to the fierce competition in the job market. But though the practical activities, such as presentation and internship, held in university, graduates could become more mature.

To conclude, university education not just simply focuses on future employment, but pay more attention to students' self-improvement in dealing with different situation.