IELTS Task 2 - University education and attendance to the classes question - optional or mandatory?

Some people believe that university students are required to attend the classes. Others hold the view that going to classes should be optional for students.

Discuss both views

It is commonly believed that it is a must for university students to attend classes. Some, however, argue that students should have the right to choose whether go to class or not. As far as I am concerned, university students should be required to go to classes since it would help students gain life experience from professors' lectures and build teamwork skills.

The students who skip classes have their reasons. The main one is they prefer self-learning time. They have said that attending class and learning knowledge they've already known is a pain.

Although I could understand why some students don't go to class, I still insist that universities should strictly require students to attend class.

In the first place, experienced professors could lecture their students on a wide range of knowledge outside the book so students could prepare for their future careers.

In the second place, attending classes could also help students interact with other students to exchange information and gain confidence in public relations.

In conclusion, there is a tremendous benefit from attending classes in university so students can have knowledge for life and learn from other students in class.