IELTS writing task 2, University education should be free for everyone

In order to study at university students are required to pay expensive tuition fees. Not all students can afford them so some people think that university education should be free for everyone. To what extent do you agree?

education in universities without tuition fees?

Fees for higher education are expensive and not affordable for everyone so according to some university should be free for all people regardless of their background. In my opinion, I agree completely with the notion that university education ought to be free as it will greatly benefit both individuals and society.

A good reason to abolish university fees is that it gives people equal rights whether they are rich or poor. At present, students from a poor background are prevented from entering university because they are unable to afford the fees. This situation, which can be avoided by eliminating tuition fees, excludes a large proportion of society and is discriminatory.

Moreover, having fees at university means that students will no longer have to work at the same time as studying to cover their costs. For example, a recent survey conducted by Princeton University, which took place in many countries, found that around three-quarters of all university students in the world have to work either full-time or part-time while studying at university to pay their fees. Free higher education should, therefore, produce better results as students will be able to afford to apply themselves to their studies exclusively.

Finally, free university education will benefit society in the long run, for the simple reason that it will open up higher education to a wider section of the population. This will result in increasing the number of educated people. In other words, having a greater resource of skilled and knowledgeable professionals will bring greater rewards to society as a whole. Furthermore, it can bring more economic advantages to a country that shows itself to be prosperous and leading in various fields.

To conclude, free university education is essential for any country that values equal rights and one that wishes to advance. The cost of free education will be recouped many times over by the benefit it brings.