University faculty should have some experience in the fields they teach.

Andy,

I wrote an essay on same topic, here is for you to compare and comment.

"In order to improve the quality of instruction at the college and university level, all faculty should be required to spend time working outside the academic world in professions relevant to the courses they teach."

I would partially agree with the statement mentioned by the author, that all faculty, professors and lecturers at College and Universities should gain direct hands-on experience working in organization outside the university that directly relates to their field of teaching, to improve the quality of instruction. Some of the Faculty may be involved in Research Activity which ensures that they keep them updated with the changes. Additionally, faculty can be provided training which could help them to update themselves which can help to deliver quality instruction.

Globally accepted fact, is that the Purpose of Education to educate students who would be responsible to drive the society in coming years. Hence education delivered should be from

experience and knowledgeable professors who have been updating themselves to the latest changes.

There could be achieved in multiple ways to ensure that the faculty has been updating themselves regularly. Firstly, as mentioned by the author faculty can take projects outside the

campus to update themselves. Secondly, the university can ensure that faculty has been updating themselves on regular basis by requiring them to take examination on the subject they teach. Thirdly, the faculty can be involved in research activities at the university, which ensures

that they have been updating themselves. and Finally, Colleges and University when deciding on

annual curriculum can focus on the level of their faculty and provide them with training to ensure that they are up to date with the changing pattern.

Advocates for Faculty would typically argue that quality of education delivered complies to the set norms as defined by the academic body. Under such situations, Colleges and Universities

needs to constantly monitor the changing pattern, and provide changes to the curriculum and also instruct the faculty to update themselves and be ready for the new curriculum.

In medical and engineering fields, we have industry experts who work in their industry and are keep attached to the colleges and university and visit the campus just to deliver lectures. They have direct on-hand experience and have proven to be delivering quality education. For example: When I was going to school, Signal Processing was taught to us by an industry expert

who had experience is Satellite Communication and was working for Boeing. This provided us the

knowledge how Signal Processing was handled and also guided us the way how efficient modulation schemes were implemented for Satellite Communications. This not only provided me with the concepts of Signal processing subject but also how it is implemented in real-time.

Higher Education is generally an option, and in order to improve of the quality of instruction delivered Colleges and Universities must encourage their faculty to constantly update themselves with the latest practices adopted in the industry. Also, if the faculty is unable to deliver the right content effectively, Colleges and University must ensure that the faculty is properly updated to the changing course.