GRE-University should require all students to take classes outside of the students' field of study

GRE-Issue

University should require every student to take a variety of courses outside of the student's field of study.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Thank you very much for your comments and modifications!

As institutions to cultivate people who will step into the society soon, universities always face the issue that how to better prepare students for their live and job in the future. Some people believe that a variety of courses outside the student's field of study could broaden their perspective and skills for a future career. Others think taking classes that beyond the areas of students' research is helpless for their jobs. While, I agree that it is essential for college students to focus on accumulating knowledge and skills in their fields of study. Gaining knowledge of different areas to understand the world we live in is also necessary. Moreover, extensive knowledge will promote students' horizon and capacity to have successful careers and lives.

When students step into the all-encompassing society, they will face different kinds of issues as citizens. People who have received education in various fields will adapt to the society more quickly. Learning the Humanities is not wasting time for students who major in science and technology. Taking classes such as politics and economy will allow them to understand current issues of the society that influence their research and daily life. For instance, every citizen of United States will participate the presidential election. To evaluate the ability of the candidates, one has to understand the politics these candidates will execute in education, economy, diplomacy, and infrastructure. Classes of the economy, politics and history would help students to apprehend the issue of the society comprehensively and make their decision rationally. Likewise, students in humanity college will also benefit from classes of science and technology. These classes would be conducive for people to explain some phenomenon in our life scientifically. Requiring students to take courses in different areas is an efficient way to training outstanding citizens for better society.

Research in various fields would also supplement each other, Take classes in other disciplines would inspire students to have innovation ideas. Take the studying of fashion design and computer science as an example. By learning interactive technology, Fashion designers could create smart clothes that possess various performance other than fabulous outlook. They could take advantage of a computer program and light sensor to create an interactive system attached to dress. Luminous devices would change colors with the light changing of environment. On the other hand, People who major in computer science also could combine fashion design into their research. For those who are studying 3D-fitting technology, learning fashion design will help them understand the relationship between three-dimensional body sharp and two-dimensional parts of clothes so that they could develop a more accurate program. In this respect, taking classes in disciplinary areas will promote the research of the student's fields.

While some people argue that courses that out of the students' areas of research are helpless for their career. In fact, many positions in today's society require candidates have transdisciplinary experience because it is crucial for teamwork. Team members would understand each other's idea easily. A good example is the design process of cell phones. To develop a useful and beautiful mobile phone, professionals in different areas have to cooperate very well. Product designer needs to learn the function of every technical component of a cell phone, materials that could be used to achieve the appearance. It is also necessary for technicians to understand the design idea to solve the technical problems. Additionally, designers and technicians should know behavioral psychology to produce cell phones that are easy to use. University is a great place for students to accumulate disciplinary knowledge and skills that would be contributory to their career development. Besides, students who only consider the benefits for a future job as the primary value of the courses is shortsighted. The significance of college education is more than vocational training.

In conclusion, I agree with the statement that university should require every student to take courses in different categories. The benefits for students' academic research, career path and value of life that they gain from these classes would remain forever. Educating students to be versatile is also valuable to flourish the society.