[Toefl] All University student should be required to take history courses?

Topic: All University student should be required to take history courses no matter what field they specialize in. Agree or Disagree?

Some argue that history should be a compulsory discipline for college students, while others stand in opposition, questioning whether this policy is necessary or not. I agree with the former group, and regard history as one of most significant subjects that one should take, especially our college fellows.

Ostensibly, history is irrelevant with some their disciplines, but I doubt if it is a fact, or it is merely our illusion. Some students declare that history has nothing to do with their subject, and it is a waste of time to put their effort on this meaningless course. However, from my perspective, not only is history relevant with almost every major, it but also is one of the most primary and necessary undertaking for college students. When I was studying biology at college, the course of biology history is one of most popular courses. As you are interested in your major, you absolutely would be fascinated about the history of your precursors, discovering how they made their contribution to this subject, knowing who started some divisions of this discipline, like Watson and Crick are the founders of DNA, and Mendel starts genetics, etc. Or perhps one studies creative writing, then obviously the history of literature will be necessary for him or her to set as a mirror, and to understand what kind of story has already been told, and what sort of forms and techniques have been experimented, therefore, s/he could gradually develop his/her own style. Otherwise it is possible that you are just repeating the styles of your ancestors, without any ideas that someone has used this technique, maybe 100 years ago. Therefore, learning the history of the students' major cannot be a smarter idea.

Furthermore, my standpoint remains as same regarding the general public history. This planet has already become a world of technicians and specialists, and conflicts arise when different opinions and ideas cannot result in some common agreements. Then sharing certain kind of knowledge, like history, would surely benefit the ecosystem of modern society, and bring merits in discussing and balancing various kinds of interests and viewpoints. College students, as the pre-intellectuals, certainly should grasp this precious treasure of human kind. For example, the 20th century has witnessed plenty of disasters, especially the two World Wars. Lessons have been learned from their outcomes and aftermath, so no large scale of military conflicts, involving numbers of countries, had happened afterwards. And also no nuclear bomb has been implemented after the disaster in Japan. History has made us more cautious when we making every decision, because clearly a wrong command would readily sentence lots of innocent people to death. We have benefited a lot from our common knowledge of what has happened, and the subject of history should continue to serve its function in college education, otherwise the society would disintegrate into a myriad of solipsistic particularities that generate hatred, wars, or even genocide.

History has served as a significant force for the development of human kind in the past, and present, therefore we shall not abandon history in the university curriculum, which would bring us a better future.