Essay about whether university students must pay all tuition fees

University students must pay all tuition fees, because it benefits mostly them individually, rather than society as a whole.

Do you agree or disagree?

financial burden for college students

It has been argued that it is mandatory for undergraduates to cover all their tuition fees as they benefit mainly from it, not the community. This essay disagrees with this opinion because not all students can afford to pay the costs and university can be of benefit to society as well as the students.

To begin with, university's tuition fees in general are costly in most of the countries all over the world, particularly in countries which have high-quality education such as the UK, the USA and Australia. It is estimated that the tuition fee per year in European countries is 12,000 dollars, which is a big deal of money for many students, especially those from less developed areas and nations. If they are not supported with scholarships or financial aids, they will not stand a chance to enter those universities regardless of their high potential, which is a waste of intellectual resources.

Secondly, it is undeniable that university can be advantageous to society. High-performing students after graduating from universities and colleges can serve the community in different fields, namely lawyers, doctors, teachers. For instance, many smart students from Asian countries nowadays have a chance to study in prestigious universities and colleges in the UK and later become qualified workers to contribute to the wellfare of citizens in their own countries.

In conclusion, it should not be obligatory for students to be responsible for all the tertiary tuition fees since if this is the case, many cannot afford to go to universities despite their high academic performance and society altogether can benefit greatly from third-level education.