Whether university students should study whatever they like or not

Which subjects for students?

Topic: Some people think that all university students should study whatever they like. Others believe that they should only be allowed to study subjects that will be useful in the future, such as those related to science and technology. Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

Essay:

A much debated question is whether undergraduates should have the right to choose fields according to their aspiration or they are obligated to study future-oriented subjects. whilst being chosen subjects freely recieves widespread support, the advocacy of focusing on compulsory ones also emerges noticeably. To express my utter approval towards the latter view and provide an unbiased scale, this essay with evaluate both sides of the debate.

One the one hand, there are some arguments in favor of the fact that universities should give the freedom for students to opt their suitable subjects. Firstly, this policy will restrict students to study what they have no interest at all. If students were obliged to learn subjects associated with technology or science without any enthusiasm, it would lead to unexpected results. Secondly, undergraduates are given the chance to challange themselves with enormous fields and hence to strengthen their expertise. For example, a technical student could choose to study economics as a way to accumulate necessesary skills like communicate or persuasive skills.

One the other hand, those harbour the opposite viewpoint usually debunk the previous one by stating consequences of opting without any orientations. Admittedly, undergraduates do not have suffiecient knowledges which is essential for their carrer. This is because students tend to study easy subjects and ignore crutial ones for the purpose is getting high scores. With the labour market becoming increasingly competitive, lacking basic understanding enables graduates to face unemployed sittuation. This can be illustrated in the study undertaken by American professors. They indicated that the percentage of the jobless because they are inadequate science or technology skills occupies up to sixty percent in the total number of reasons causing unemployments. Thus, although there is no denying for advantages of choosing fields freely, in current modern society, it is more important for university students to study oriented subjects.

In conclusion, I believe that students should study compulsory subjects associate with their future. Universitiy also should have consideration to choose the optimal subject lists to ensure graduate's carrer prospect.