IELTS Writing Task 2: university subjects should be useful, and other should be banned

Topic;

Some people think that all university students should study whatever they like.

Others believe that they should only be allowed to study subjects that will be useful in the future, such as those related to science and technology.

There are contrast views in regard to the selection of university subjects. Some argue that it would be better for students to choose their desire subject, while others prefer useful subjects such as science-oriented or technology-oriented courses. In my point of view, university students should prioritize their interested subjects over useful subjects.

Some people believe that students should be restricted to study useful subjects as they might think studying popular courses will be easier to succeed due to better career progression, higher salaries and more job opportunities. It is undeniable that the higher number of students focusing on technical field brings more inventions and society growth.

There are various reasons why I prefer students should choose a subject they enjoy learning. One reason is that they will have higher chance to be an elite in their familiar field because of greater motivation and passion. Students studying their desire subject allows them to further enhance their skills and thus they will be able to get a high grade and easier to be hired by big companies. Another reason is that students not studying a subject considered as useful may be easier to adapt to the future as no one knows what field of skills are needed in the future. For instance, art or animation degree graduates may be in high demand after a decade because jobs not related to science, engineering or information technology may emerge.

To sum up, although studying useful courses in recent years may be more beneficial than the less common courses, I personally believe students studying their interested subjects will have better talents and easier to adapt to the future.