No unnecessary experiments on animals! Public should show responsibility. IELTS.

Essay question:

A growing number of people feel that animals should not be exploited by people and that they should have the same rights as humans, while others argue that humans must employ animals to satisfy their various needs, including use for food and research. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Answer:

Some people argue that animals should have equal rights as humans and these living creatures should not be subjected to cruelty of any kind. On the other hand, other people argue that it is necessary to continue animal testing and use them for food in order to maintain survival of humans on the earth. This essay will discuss both these arguments and outline my opinion.

Animal rights advocates argue that the animals should be treated as same as people and also they have right to live as any other creatures living on the earth. For instance, animals such as rats and rabbits are being used for testing for medications and scientific researches. This type of animal exploitation has been utterly condemned by animal lovers and they criticise that humans do not have right to experiment on animals as they suffer enormously from pain. The supporters for animal rights further claim that scientists should adopt alternative methods for their researches rather than using animals who do not have a voice to convey their dissatisfaction. Furthermore, animals should be respected and their needs are to be recognised. To support this point of view, it is argued that eating meat should be banned and also the using animal part as a material such as for bags and clothes should be prohibited worldwide.

On the other hand, firstly, it could be argued that it is essential to develop medical treatments and medication through experiments for the benefit and well being of human beings. In order to achieve these advancements, it is required to carry out testing on animals as it is not possible to test on people due to costs and other regulations in place. Secondly, embracing veganism and relying on plant-based food will not be sufficient to feed people around the world.

In conclusion , I believe that the animals should only be used for experiments when it is necessary and no other method is available. Public should endorse animal welfare as to responsible use of animals as well as satisfaction of human needs.