Unpaid community service - "great stepping stone for high school institutions"

Hello guys..please help me out with my writing for the IELTS. I'm not very much confident with how i present my ideas, so your opinions and suggestions will be of great value to me. Thanks a lot!

Some people believe that unpaid community service should be a compulsory part of high school programmes (for example working for a charity, improving the neighborhood or teaching sports to younger children).

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is encouraged that compulsory high school programmes should involve an unpaid community service. These public services would comprise a wide range of voluntary works not only for the benefit of the government but for the volunteer themselves.

Nowadays, most students spent their time in a less productive activities during their spare time. They would opt to sinking on their couch the whole day watching tv, playing video games, or even straining their eyes in front of a computer. Not realizing all of which are part of a sedentary lifestyle which they are trying to inculcate on themselves.

If a volunteer service program will be implemented in secondary school, students would have the opportunity to acquire new skills and knowledge in working voluntarily. They would learn team effort as well as the importance of having a job at their own effort and expenses.

Moreover, a healthy lifestyle would be promoted as these kind of community service will drive them to keep in motion physically. Their attention will be further focused on something that is more creative and worthwhile rather than having nothing to do at all.

Through this program, students would nurture not only their skills but also their emotional and social being as well. Furthermore, in some aspect, crime rates would likely be reduced.

In conclusion, it will be a great stepping stone for high school institutions to carry out such programmes for the betterment not only for the students but for the community itself in general.