People have contrasting views about volunteering activity for pupils

Unpaid community service for pupils

Some people believe that unpaid community service should be compulsory part of high school program (for example working for a charity, improving the neighborhood or teaching sport to younger children. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is frequently believed that people have contrasting views about volunteering activity for pupils which becomes one of compulsory activities in their school. However, some argue that community service should not be obligatory for them. Having said that, I moderately agree with this idea.

In recent years, a volunteering activity is considered as a mandatory programme which presents a major merit for pupils. First and foremost, involving in this activities will trigger pupil's awareness to other people which develop their life skills, such as teamwork, empathy, and self-discipline. In fact, they will conscious about current situation trying to find a splendid solution. Many students, for instance, dedicate themselves for helping an orphan who lives in the orphanage to have a good food or make some event to boost their life spirit. Secondly, this sort of activities will generate positive aspect in terms of communication. By following this programme, they will definitely meet and cooperate with others which boost their communication skill. Hence, they should speak in order to socialize with others, such as elderly people, younger children, and even their classmates. This sort of skills are not taught in the classroom, so immersing in community service will make them into a sociable person. Taking into account, unpaid community service should become one of the programmes in the high school.

A further reason is a creativity, it is commonly said that volunteering activity improves their ideas in terms of finding solutions. Pupils will be freed to adopt a different approach of doing their work which bolsters their ideas and make them more creative. For example, in case of teaching sport to younger children, they will try a unique way to persuade children to follow their movement. In contrast, I believe community programme is not an absolute imperative for pupils. We can see that many students have a lot of subjects to study and that would be difficult for them in case the volunteering activity is made compulsory for them. They will profoundly face many obstacles in the academic area and sometimes they might be failed in the examinations. Thus, students have their own right to choose to be volunteer or not.

To sum up, it will be better if this programme still exists in school due to their benefits to pupils. Yet, I believe this activity should not be compulsory for students which make them to be freed to choose regarding their interest.