Unsupervised social media usage by youngsters is dangerous. Discuss problem & suggest solutions.

Limitless internet surfing of teenagers

In present times, the development of social media has left the internet surfing of teenagers unsupervised. This has lead to the rise of a multitude of problems which holds potential danger to them and society. My purpose in writing this essay is to suggest some measures that can be taken to tackle this problem.

When youngsters especially the teenagers are left unsupervised while using social media apps in order to meet and chat with friends, then become vulnerable to explicit content they may come across. Moreover, it is a trend nowadays to send a friend request to anonymous people on social media. According to youngsters, this is something cool and adventurous but they are unaware of the cybercrimes that may happen on this platform. For instance, one of my classmates was cyberbullied by teenagers who were much older than him, last year. Similar cases are reported every day all around the world. This problem may also have a life-long impact on them.

In order to tackle this problem, the elders can anonymously become a friend of them on social media. They can then keep a track of their activities. In this way, the youngsters would not know that they are being supervised by the elders. In addition to that, the ones who are supervising would get to know what kind of content are the children browsing and what is their friend circle. Therefore, they can easily guide them when they feel that youngsters are going in the wrong direction. For example, in the case of my classmate, he came out of that problem when one of our school teachers anonymously became a friend of him on social media and helped him out.

To conclude, though this problem seems to be small, it is not. In this essay, I have mentioned one of the ways this problem can be addressed. It requires immediate action as it is a matter of concern for our future generations.