Upraising e-books, good or bad? Adv vs disadv essay.

popularity of electronic books phenomenon

With the rise of e-books comes the decline in paper books. Some people see this as a good step forward while others do not. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this trend?

As we are in the age of technology, some see it as a positive outcome when the upraising electronic books are substituting the traditional books. Which leads to other strongly disagree. In this essay, I will present the advantages of the topic and also the drawbacks below.

One positive outcome to the upraising electronic books replacing the traditional books is that it could save our environment. Because electronic books do not need an enormous amount of trees in order to produce sufficient distribution. Instead, it merely requires computer and electricity. Furthermore, it could save a lot of space too. Take library for example, by substituting those physical books to electronic books, it would save so much space for other uses such as more chairs and tables for people to read.

However, there are some downsides in regard to substitution of electronic books to traditional books. One negative impact is that the long hours of staring at the electronic screen would lead to certain eye diseases. Macular degeneration for instance, it would cause by looking at the phone or computer its screen intensively over a certain amount of time. Moreover, e-book users have to pay more comparing the physical books in purchasing from the service via the internet because of the convenience gimmick, thus, before the price becomes cheaper and universal, it is a step of backward to us.

To conclude, some people consider that it is a step forward regarding the popularity of electronic books in contrast to the traditional books. While it is beneficial in saving the environment and reduce its space capacity. The eye diseases might occur by constantly looking at its screen and the expensive price for its e-books should also be taken into consideration.