Urban areas and living space shortage - essay check

Many of the world's cities are currently facing a serious housing shortage.

What are some of the reasons for this shortage and what solutions can you suggest?

the limit of living space in urban areas

It is true that nowadays the lack of housing is one of the most important issues in many metropolitan area. There are various reasons for this problem and steps can definitely be taken to tackle it.

Three main causes are blamed for the root of the shortage in housing. Firstly, due to the increase of population over the last 20 years, the number of local residents in cities doubles or even triples which already takes up the large area for dwelling. Secondly, every year hundreds of people migrate to large metropolis in the search of better job. This lead to, for example, a situation that many low-income workers in Viet Nam have to accept to stay in parks or bus stations after a hard work day. Finally, since the price of land rises dramatically, most land lord only want to sell their property to companies who intend to build factories, school, buildings to make a big profit instead of building house for rent.

However, different approach can be adopted to solve these issues. So as to create more housing places but not accounting too much space, it is the best if city authorities construct a lot of skycraper apartments. Moreover, Government should develop provincial towns and rural areas, moving industry and job to these regions. By doing so, it will strike a balance in population between metropolis and countryside. Additionally, politicians have the power to impose a heavy fine if any family has more than two offsprings.

In conclusion, many feasible solutions can be applied to solve the limit of living space in urban areas.