IELTS: the use of computer can replace many functions of museums and libraries?

Some people believe that museums and libraries are quite unnecessary for individuals and society because the use of computer can replace many functions of them. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

With the continuing acceleration in digitization of information, museum has faced a revolutionary development. While I accept that computers have the ability to replace many functions of museums and libraries, I believe that these institutions need to be kept running for the benefit of citizens and society at large.

On the one hand, a few functions of museums and libraries can be replaced by that of computers. Firstly, some computer programs can be entertaining as the museums can be. The increasing capacity of digital information has expanded the function of the traditional museum. For example, people now can enjoy high-resolution image of collections in a virtual museum, which can be highly entertaining. In terms of the library, the digitization of information offers many conveniences to us. We have seen that the difficulties of using a catalogue in the British library can be overcome, especially with an online library that has modern indexing technology. Moreover, the online library makes books available from any place with Internet, meaning that reading can be easily than before.

However, I would argue that the computers cannot be a substitute for the museum and library. Compared with sitting in front of a computer, people can see artifacts in an interactive environment. This is because there are many museums that encourage a more hands-on approach. We can wear replica clothes of the Qing dynasty in China's Palace Museum, which immerse us in a slice of what Chinese ancestors' life may have been. From a social perspective, many libraries are built for protecting ancient books and preserving culture. For instance, the Alexandrian Library is important for people to study the Egyptian. Furthermore, both museums and library have a function of education. For instance, the stories behind the Louvre Museum will by explained in detail by guides if visitors go there, which can enable our next generation to learn from history.

In conclusion, it is true that most functions of museum and library cannot be replaced by the computer because the libraries and museums are still indispensable parts for individuals and society.