Ielts - use of nuclear technology should be discouraged even for civil purposes

hi folks,

Essay forum is a great place to improve your writing skills based on the feed back from community. I have read plenty of IELTS essay posted on this forum and found their feedback very helpful. However this is my first post to this forum. I will highly appreciate your feedback.

The nuclear power provide clean and cheap energy.

The advantages of nuclear technology outweigh the disadvantages. Do you agree or disagree ?

The topic of nuclear technology frequently generates a heated debate with proponenets maintaining that nuclear power provides a source of efficient and economical energy while opponents argue that atomic technology is uncontrollable and very dangerous to handle. As far as my opinion is concerned , I find myself aligned with opponenets of the usages of nuclear power. I have several reasons to believe its disadvantages outnumber the few advantages.

First and foremost reason is that pursuit of nuclear technology one way or the other leads towards atomic weapons. Last centuary has witnesed the horrors of such weapons. If each country pursues the fusion and fission process some of them may try to mold it for millitary usage.

Another reason to fortify my opinion is that even civil usages of atomic power pose a dire threat of radio activity. For example recently there has been an incident in which an atomic power house leaked tons of radio active material into air when an earthquake hit the surrounding area. This unfortunate event proves that no matter how much careful we are such accidents are unevitable.

Last but not least, while generating energy from any source be it hydro power or oil there always is some wastage and so is the case with nuclear power. Safely getting rid of nuclear waste is a daunting task and there has not been any permanat solution of it. This waste is many times more lethal to our environment than any of the other hazordous material.

To sum it up, from above mentioned facts it can easily be deduced that nuclear power may apear silver bullet for energy crisis but its disadvantages far outweigh the adavantages. Thus i suggest that use of nuclear technology should be discouraged even for civil purposes.