The use of online platforms for business meetings and trainings - pros and cons

Nowadays more and more business meetings and business training are taking place online.

Do the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

Online meetings and trainings have been widely in use more than ever. Despite a wide range of benefits that the trend offers, there are some drawbacks of the technology that users should be also aware of.

Virtual conferences are excellent alternatives to traditional ones, especially for those who live in various locations. With meetings conducted over the Internet, people from different parts of the world could communicate with one another without traveling to particular destinations. This also helps companies save costs when running physical conferences such as venue, accommodation, airfare, and catering and refreshments. In particular, the practice has proven its importance during the coronavirus outbreak. When commuting is restricted, video- conferencing applications are brilliant solutions for entrepreneurs to keep their business on the run.

As advanced as online meeting technology is, it has limitations that might affect user experience. First, connectivity issues such as freezing or disconnection may cause disruption and frustration during meetings. Moreover, long-distance meetings sometimes lack personal interaction when people could only rely on limited tools to interact with one another. Even basic conducts of communication such as handshaking or eye contact are impossible to in those cases. Those factors could reduce the efficiency of the meetings and discourage a sense of community among participants.

In general, the use of online platforms for business meetings and trainings help both employers and employees overcome geographical distances, hence, cut cost and time. Although limitations are evident and should be taken into consideration, online meeting is still more a convenience than an inconvenience.