The use of social media is replacing face-to-face contact in this century. Good or bad?

socializing online

Nowadays, people tend to chat with others online through social network and spend less time on real-life communication. Many think that this situation is good while others held the opposite opinion. However, i strongly agree with the increasing use of social network for several reasons.

Firstly, online chat can bring people together. Since it enables us to connect with people all over the world, websites like Facebook are necessary in some cases. For example, if you want to talk with someone who is currently aboard, it is impossible to fly from here to there just to speak to him or her in person. Therefore, social media appears to be the only solution

Secondly, by joining online community, people can show their true selves. Many people feel shy to communicate with others in real life. However, it is a completely different story when it comes to texting on the internet. While chatting, they don't have to reveal their faces, therefore, they feel more comfortable and confident to talk about their hobbies and habits. As a result, they can find people with the same interests more easily.

It is also true that social media makes people less talk to others. A significant example is that when you come too a coffee shop, you will see a lot of people sitting in front of the others, using their phones without saying a word. However, i think that this is up to everyone's will to change. If they do want to speak to others, they should go to a non-internet cafe or force themselves to put their phones down.