Ielts task 2 _ using alternative medicines and treatments instead of visiting their normal doctor

Nowadays, an increasing number of people with health problems are using alternative medicines and treatments instead of visiting their normal doctor.

Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

In recent years, it has become far more normal for people with health problems not to visit their normal doctor as much as use alternative medicines and treatments. In my opinion, this trend has brought both benefits and drawbacks.

The trend toward using medicines or kinds of cure is gaining in the light of several factors, chief of which is convenience and speed of solving health issues. Patients can look for information about their health problems and treatments on the Internet without wasting time, money to hospitals or clinics. For instance, only by clicking and tapping on the electronic devices, numerous results about health issues will be displayed, people easily find and choose suitable remedies and treatments. Furthermore, this is likely to make people become more active in following and swiftly solving their health issues.

Besides the aforementioned advantages, I do believe that the rising popularity of using alternative medicines and cures rather than visiting doctors also has negative things. When patients go to hospital or private clinics, they can receive good professional advice from their doctor. If people find out about treatments by themselves or use functional products, they will be able to face up to risk. By contrast, there is hardly any risk in doctor's prescriptions. The quality of human's health will drop when myriad people with health issues who don't have major knowledge use alternative medicines and treatments by themselves.

In short, the increase of people who have health problems using alternative medicines and treatments instead of going to clinics is not totally positive or negative.