Using computers every day does more harm than good to the children

Using a computer everyday can have more negative than positive effects on children. Agree/Disagree?

It is true that in this temporary society, computers are no stranger to children. While I agree that computers have their own advantages, I believe that using computers every day does more harm than good to the children.

Firstly, staring at the computer on a daily basis affects children's health negatively. One of the most undeniable results of computers on a child's health is short-sightedness. The computer screens emit a particular green light which proved to be harmful to human's eyes in the long term. As a result, looking at the computer day by day could make our eyes tired and eventually leads to myopia. In addition, computers promote a sedentary lifestyle. Children who are absorbed in the virtual world have the tendency to stay at home most of the time. This trend increases the risk of hazardous illness such as heart attack and obesity since those computer addicts are lacking in physical exercises.

Secondly, children would gain access to the unwanted sources of information on the Internet. It is clear that the information updated on computer is unlimited; nevertheless, they are sometimes left unmonitored. Children could inadvertently reach the inappropriate contents related to violence and sexuality. Clearly, a child could take in information easily without filtering; therefore, these types of information would provoke violence among children by lingering images of killings. Take my brother as an example. When he was six, my parents allowed him to use the computer without restrictions. After a few months, he became rigorous towards people since he watched a great deal of violent videos on Youtube. We then became aware of the negative impacts of computers on children's mind.

In conclusion, even though computers might have some positive edges, I strongly believe that they are harmful to children in the main and that children should not be allowed to use computers too often.