Using punishment to teach children good behavior? Ielts 2

[IELTS ACADEMIC-WRITING TASK 2] PUNISHMENT

It is important for children to learn the difference between right and wrong at an early age. Punishment is necessary to help them learn this distinction. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion? What sort of punishment should parents and teachers be allowed to use to teach good behavior to children?

Educating children has always been a tough task that challenges almost all parents and teachers these days. It is thought that children should be the taught to distinguish two different sides of a problem at a young age, and giving them penalty is essential. This essay will discuss why the belief given above is completely acceptable and provide some forms of discipline that could be used to control the young's behavior

I concur that forming a child's personality from an early age by teaching the right and wrong is absolutely crucial. If children are able to recognize what should do and what should not do, they would have a strong determination to resolve a problem properly. Besides, this educational strategy has functions to enhance juvenile's critical thinking, which is useful for their future development, especially in their academic performance. Punishment is compatible with children's process of achieving this distinction. Parent or teaching staffs could impose a mild penalty on children's wrongdoing so that they would remember to eliminate their inappropriate behavior.

In terms of penalty methods, I opine that both parent and teachers should avoid harsh punishments. Mentally abusing, smacking, hitting, etc could potentially leave children psychologically damaged. Instead, it is recommended that the young should be given constructive penalty which enable them to realize their mistakes. For examples, taking away a child's favorite toy for a day if there has been any misbehavior, he or she will remember not to repeat that mistake

In conclusion, I believe that shaping children's personality through constructive punishment is imperative for the social sustainable development.