The value of understanding ideas and concepts is higher than learning facts.

[TPO7]

Essay Topic

Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

It is more important for students to understand ideas and concepts than it is for

them to learn facts.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Although many people believe facts have more practical effects than abstract words, I think ideas and concepts have more potential force that will affect our whole life. In my opinion, the value of understanding ideas and concepts is higher than learning facts.

The first reason is ideas and concepts are difficult to grasp. Unlike facts, we can find it out by continuously testing. On the contrary, ideas are hard to perceive, because ideas usually contains more range of knowledge and develops for a long time. Therefore, understanding ideas and concepts will increase our competitiveness.

Second, ideas and concepts are usually created by outstanding persons. Those people dedicate their whole life to specific areas and in the end they left all their efforts in their words. Those words are the ideas and concepts we learn now. Thus, learning ideas is not just learning it, but learn from those great persons.

The third reason is we will benefit a lot by understanding just one idea or concept. For example, there are too many stories describing how a person succeed by being motivated by one idea or concept. Merely only one idea will create huge powers that we cannot even imagine. Hence, we will gain more by grasping relatively small amounts of ideas.

In conclusion, we do nothing without any fact; nonetheless, if we want to achieve something great, then merely holding facts is absolutely not enough. We need the help from ideas, concepts, and those brilliant people.