( IELTS essay) who is valued more: young or old

In some countries, old age is valued, while, in others, youth is emphasized. Which view point do you agree with?

The greater or lesser importance is given to some groups in the society are prevalent in different parts of the world. It is believed that, in Asian countries older people are more respected but in western countries, significance is given to youths. In my opinion, it can be unhealthy to place too much worth on any group, simply because of age, since, both groups have their own part to play.

Old age is often associated with wisdom. Experiences come with age. They acquired this wisdom by hard work and overcoming thousands of problems, which is useful for younger generation. For instance, in many societies, younger family members consult older ones for advice on hardships or relationships. These people worked their whole life to make the family or society better. Moreover, some are extremely wise and experienced to take the responsibility to govern an important institution or even a country. If we look around, we can find that, politicians and company managers are in their sixties or seventies enjoy their position, despite of strong businesses competitions. In addition, as life expectancy is increased, older people are becoming more vital as consumers and voters.

On the other hand, youths are considered as the asset of any country because they can determine the future of the country. Millions of young graduates and skilled professionals are the workforce of the country, brings economical progress. Young generation is always the pioneers of innovation, revolution, new ideas and creativity. Government gives significance to younger people in various ways. Compulsory education is giving to children. As a result, as they grow older, they could become valuable citizens with proper knowledge and useful skills. Fees concessions, scholarships, unemployment benefits and so on, are also allocating to support the youth.

In conclusion, an ideal society would have the balance. We should appreciate the beauty and potential of the youth and the advice and experience of the old. At the same time, we should be careful to understand the reality of each. Although, the society seems to be obsessed with the youth, older people still have power and wealth.