IELTS 2 - The values have been replaced with social status and wealth in how people see others

Feedbacks are very much appreciated. Thank you :)

A person's worth nowadays seems to be judged according to social status and material possessions. Old-fashioned values, such as honour, kindness and trust, no longer seem important.

To what extent do you agree and disagree with this opinion?

Unlike the old days, values have been replaced with social status and wealth in how people see others. Society tends to respect those with money rather than those with admirable attitude. While it is undeniable that social status and material possessions play a part in leveling up people's worth, I strongly disagree if those are the only aspects considered in judging people's worth. In my opinion, there is nothing which can replace someone's good deeds for how their worth in society.

There are just too many cases where people with material possessions have it easy with everything. They can avoid law, get away with problems or have positions in government just by bribing the officials with big amount of money. Those are proofs that social status and material possession without values can lead into a toxic society. They may be seen as someone respectable for some people yet it will not last long. People will eventually leave when they have got what they want already.

On the other hand, those who stay true with their roots, keep showing kindness, and respect other people can earn a long time respect from society. Even if the material they possess is not as much, people will see the good side and even if it takes a long time, they will slowly earn respect and people will judge their worth from what they have done not from what they have possessed.

In conclusion, a person's worth may be judged by social status and material possession however it will not last long when it is not accompanied with great values. People with great values, however, can achieve a great worth even if the social status and material possessions are not owned.