Various methods to get information - which are the most effective?

IELTS WRITING TASK 2 (Cambridge 4)

Topic:

Compare the advantages and disadvantages of three of the following as

media for communicating information. State which you consider to be the

most effective.

>comics

>books

>radio

>television

>film

>theatre

My essay:

It is true that we have many various methods to get information nowadays. However, there are pros and cons in each way of receiving information.

We can watch television and films or listen to the radio in order to get information, or simply just for entertainment. Watching television, I believe, is the most effective way to learn new information. Television programs are usually played within a short period of time and mostly with pictures or videos, so that viewers can understand better. While due to the short broadcasting time of television programs, some producers may ignore other important information of the whole story. In this way, they might mislead viewers to a different opinion.

The second most effective way of accessing information is through radio. The reasons why I suggest this is that we listen to the radio while we are driving, cooking, or showering. It is definitely the easiest method to receive information. Since it is only giving audio information, it is hard to imagine sometimes. From my perspective, watching films is the least effective way, compared to the previous two methods. People need to spare a longer time, cost more energy, and pay better attention in order to watch a film; therefore, people do not watch films as often as they watch television, or listen to the radio. Nevertheless, films can carry out a huge amount of information and can be the most memorable one for the viewers.

In conclusion, I believe that among all the methods of receiving information, watching television is the most effective one, following by listening to the radio and watching films.