Vegetarian diet is good or not; a good idea to encourage consumers to eat more plant foods

Everyone should become vegetarian because they do not need to eat meat to have a healthy diet.

Do you agree or disagree?

Some people think that it is more advantageous for everyone to become vegetarian because a balanced diet that does wonders for health does not require meat to be part of it. I partly agree with this statement and I think that although perhaps eating only plant foods can provide us a healthy diet, I do not believe that everyone should stop eating meat to enjoy good health.

On the one hand, it is impossible to deny the beneficial effects of vegetarian and plant foods for health. There are different kinds of plant-based foods that contain more valuable and necessary nutrients than animal source foods to support our bodies. For instance, protein animals that are richer in fat and cholesterol than protein plant foods can lead to several dangerous chronic diseases such as obesity, cardiovascular disease, diabetes, etc. in the case of overuse of this kind of foods. Therefore, numerous specialists advise people to reduce consumption of meat and take vegetables as a replacement source.

On the other hand, I believe that the merits of ceasing consumption of meals or any type of animal source foods may be overweighed by its disadvantages. Firstly, it is obvious that some essential nutrients only are found in meat. A clear case of it is vitamin B12, this substance prevents our brain from some mental diseases and plays an essential role in regulating blood circulation. The only food sources of vitamin B12 are foods of animal origin, including meat, fish, and eggs. Secondly, stop eating meat dishes may cause some harmful effects on a large number of people's life. For example, in some countries where people mainly survive by consuming and producing animal-based foods, the fact that everyone is vegetarian may decrease these countries' economic growth.

In conclusion, although it is a good idea to encourage consumers to eat more plant foods, meat is still considered to be an indispensable food source that helps them achieve a balanced and healthy diet.