Vegetarians do not need to eat meat to have a healthy diet. Is it a good way for others too?

IELTS Writing Task 2 - Opinion Task

Everyone should become vegetarian because they do not need to eat meat to have a healthy diet.

What is your opinion?

Since plants foods are believed to be better for human body, there is growing concern stating that meat should be excluded from people's diet. In my perspective, despites its evident benefits, vegetarian diet should not be compulsory for all diets.

On the one hand, certain healthy benefits can be obtained as a result of enjoying vegetarian diet. Firstly, it contains a huge source of vitamins or minerals. Therefore, by placing plants foods on daily diet, there will obviously be a fall in other foods' expenditure with the similar purpose of giving adequate nutrition to support our body. Secondly, also by its nutrients content, people surely get less chance of being suffered from those diseases like cancer or obesity by consuming vegetarian diet. For instance, Japanese elderly residents are widely known with the healthy appearance since their diet always contains a huge source of vegetables.

On the other hand, rather than being applied widely, vegetarian diet contains numerous drawbacks for some certain eaters. To begin with, enjoying meat refers to a favorable eating habit that majority of people fail into. Because the tastes value exceeds the 'costs', thus, those are in favor of meat consuming might not be willing to take an exchange for their favorable choice of diet. Furthermore, beef or pork are known as the most valuable source of protein and other nutrients. Hence, if they are excluded from the diet, healthy body will surely not be ensured. For example, back to the past days, majority of people had been suffered from malnutrition since their only available source of food was vegetables.

By way of conclusion, although containing evident benefits like providing vitamins or minerals, I believe that consuming vegetarian diet is not for everyone, especially those who are under sufferance of malnutrition.