Vehicle-free days in an urban center : do the advantages outweigh disadvantages? - IELTS task 2

Some cities have vehicle-free days, when private cars, trucks, motorcycles are banned in the city center. Public transportations like buses, taxis and metros are advised. To what extent do you think the advantages outweigh the disadvantages.

prohibition of private cars in a strict urban center

Vehicle-free days on which private vehicles are not allowed and public transport modes are suggested in the urban center are now observed in many cities around the world. From my point of view, this practice brings more benefits than drawbacks.

Undoubtedly, private cars in many cases offer greater convenience compared to taking bus. While public transportation is limited with particular available time and routes, its private counterpart allows people to go wherever and whenever they want with no restrictions. Having a personal vehicle also means saving time waiting for the next bus or train to come and for other people to get off at their stops. Some high profile individuals such as busy executives, directors and agents may not welcome the challenges of using the subway because they rely on cars for their own security as well as that of valuable equipment they carry to meetings.

Nevertheless, the benefits of a car-free day to the greater society is a day with less traffic congestion, a greener environment and improved security. Car prohibition helps reduce congestion which will enable public transport to move faster between stops. It also means that citizens' and their property's safety will increase due to roads not being overcrowded. Furthermore, if more buses and trains being used instead of private cars, which means a lot of people ride in the same vehicle, the carbon emissions per head will be largely reduced. Therefore, the air quality will improve significantly, not to mention decreased gasoline demand.

Some people may think just a single odd day doesn't make much difference, then another important consideration is a change in mindset that vehicle-free days could bring about. Since using public transportation not only is much cheaper and safer but also gives travelers free time during their commute, going through a day without a car will be a real-life demonstration to prove that cars aren't always necessary. By breaking the habit of reliance on private cars people would become more open and receptive to new ways of moving around.

In conclusion, although the prohibition of private cars may initially be seen as inconvenience and prompt a negative reaction, for the reasons of many benefits to human beings in a long term, it seems necessary to promote vehicle-free days.