IELTS Task 2 : Many vehicles on British roads

The first car appeared on British roads in 1888. By the year 2000 there may be as many as 29 million vehicles on British roads. Alternative forms of transport should be encouraged and international laws introduced to control car ownership and use. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In the eighteen century, the first car had discovered in British. Then, over a hundred years, the number of vehicles increased to 29 million in 2000. While critics claim that the number of alternative transportation should be improved and British Governments have a rule to maintain using of private cars. Personally, I agree that the government's policy should make limited number for using vehicle and give solution for urban and environmental problem.

Since the first car appeared in British, many Britons prefer to use private cars to reach their destination. Over the years, many kinds of feature cars make people interest to buy the new one and it will show about their social class. For example, in 2000, the number of private cars increased significantly to 29 million because the total purchase of cars rose up highly. Thus, the British roads were getting busier and affect to traffic and more pollutant would appear.

The opposite statement said that the British government should be encouraged Britons for using alternative transport and make policy to control car use because the impacts of the highest number of vehicles are urban problems like traffic and environmental damaged or pollution. For instance, the government adding the number of public transportation and improve the quality alternative transport like bus, subway train or build a way for bicycle. Moreover, International laws should be introduced the rules about private cars, such as give the highest tax for people who have a car. Thus, Britons would not buy a car, they could help government to decrease pollution caused by car.

To sum up, the number of using private car in Britain slightly increase every year and until 20th century. The British government has a role to maintain the number of private cars so their country will decrease the traffic and pollution in their cities.