[IELTS TASK 2] _Viability of GM foods to meet demand of growing population

With a growing world population one the most pressing issues is feeding such a number of people. Some people think that GM foods offer a viable solution to this problem. To what extent Do you agree or disagree?

feeding a growing number of people

The more population in our world, the larger quantity of food will be need to feed such a tremendous number of people. Since swelling population in countries is inevitable, one of the imperative concerns is how people can forage for food, despite this explosive growth. In this regard, GM foods production is a recommended solution with which it is believed that people can guarantee their food necessities. However, I would question the plausibility of this method by looking at how these foods could be health hazardous as well as they can negatively alter the origin of world's ecosystems.

For one, the outcomes of such alternations in foods' origins could pose detrimental impacts to humans' over-all wellbeing. Take vitamin deficiencies cases in many countries as an example. Based on some studies in my country, Iran, it is represented that GM foods contain less amount of vitamins and minerals, compared those of normally-grown produce. As Persian individuals tend to have determined portion of food essentials suggested by nutritionists, they ingest less amount of nutrients than expected with consuming these sorts of foods. Thus, it is apparent that, GM foods do not carry healthy properties which normally-produced ones do.

Additionally, genetic changes in foods for the sake of more massive production could cause flaws in the chain of ecosystems. For instance, genetically modified tomatoes in my country have fewer leaves, so that it leads to more dryness on soil after irrigation in hot days. Following this, there are a lot of objections from farmers that these crops associated with more water usage. Based on the above reasoning, mentioned problem could result in groundwater aquifers depletion. Thus, the negative ramifications of GM produce are clear.

To put in a nutshell, however, by GM foods there could be some temporary solutions for feeding growing population, the devastating influences on people's health could diminish its virtues. It is recommended that food supplies management could address this problem more effectively.